Pakistan News

Village councillors elected unopposed in Lakki

Village councillors elected unopposed in Lakki

LAKKI MARWAT: The candidates for general, peasant, women and youth seats in Naverkhel village council of Eesakkhel ward were elected unopposed after completion of the process of withdrawal of nomination papers.

Several candidates were in the run for the seats of different categories in the village council. Their nomination papers were also declared valid during the scrutiny process.

However, the local elders and office-bearers of village committee initiated efforts to develop consensus on the candidates and convince others to withdraw their papers. They held separate meetings with all aspirants for general, peasant, women and youth seats and discussed with them the polls related matters.

An elder said that the committee asked the contenders to strengthen unity among the villagers and play their role in development of the area. He said that their efforts bore fruits and the candidates for seven general, two women and one each peasant and youth seats were elected unopposed as their rivals withdrew nomination papers.

Those, who were elected unopposed on seven general seats in Nawerkhel village council, include Attaur Rehman, Habibur Rehman, Haji Munawar, Jehanzeb, Malik Mohammad Zaman, Mohammad Yaseen and Mohammad Shoaib. Bibi Ayesha, Gulan Bibi, Hidayatulah and Javed were also elected unopposed on the seats reserved for women, youth and peasant respectively.

Published in Dawn, May 8th, 2015

On a mobile phone? Get the Dawn Mobile App: Apple Store | Google Play

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top