Pakistan News

Arthur, Ford, two Pakistanis on 15-man PSL coaches list

Arthur, Ford, two Pakistanis on 15-man PSL coaches list

LAHORE: Some prominent names are included in a list of 15 coaches, including two Pakistanis, who have signed up for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) roster, enabling them to become part of the coach selection process set to be held immediately after the franchises come on board, said a PCB press release on Saturday.

The two Pakistan coaches on the list are Mohammad Akram, who recently resigned as bowling coach at the National Cricket Academy (NCA), and Abdul Rehman, whose coaching helped Peshawar region win the National T20 Cup in Rawalpindi last September.

“The coaches bring a wealth of international coaching to the PSL, having coached leading international and domestic teams across the world,” the press release stated.

Najam Sethi, PSL governing council chairman, said: “These are just some of the coaches who have signed up and we will be realeasing more names soon. As always, it is heartening to see the confidence that the cricketing fraternity has in Pakistan cricket. These are top names in world cricket and teams will be spoilt for choice as they finalise their coaching panels.”

The PSL will take place from Feb 4 to 24 next year in Dubai and Sharjah, with five teams set to take part in the first edition.

List of names (with native countries and coaching experience):

Mickey Arthur (South Africa) — Australia, South Africa and Western Australia

Graham Ford (South Africa) — South Africa, Sri Lanka

Eric Simons (South Africa) — South Africa, India, Delhi Daredevils

Stuart Law (Australia) — Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh

Robin Singh (India) — Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, Barbados Tridents

Ottis Gibson (West Indies) — former England, West Indies

Ray Jennings (South Africa) — South Africa, Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) — New Zealand, Sri Lanka;

Gordon Greenidge (West Indies) — Bangladesh;

Darren Berry (Australia) — Adelaide Strikers, Rajasthan Royals, South Australia

Shane Jurgensen (Australia) —New Zealand, Bangladesh

Andy Moles (England) — New Zealand, Scotland, Kenya, Afghanistan

Chris Adams (England) — Sri Lanka, Surrey

Mohammad Akram (Pakistan) — Pakistan

Abdul Rehman (Pakistan) — Peshawar.

Published in Dawn, November 15th, 2015

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top