Pakistan News

Zakir, Mohyuddin, Shabbir win awards

Zakir, Mohyuddin, Shabbir win awards

KARACHI: Experienced rider Zaki Zakir clinched his maiden Champion Rider of the Year award at the Karachi Racecourse on Sunday.

He galloped home 26 winners in the races held last year. Besides, he grabbed 19 second, 17 third and 10 fourth places on the board

The Champion Trainer of the Year was shared by veteran trainer Mohyuddin and rider-cum-trainer Ghulam Shabbir II saddling 22 winners apiece.

While the former has retained the title his co-champion trainer has won the honours for the first time in his capacity as trainer.

It is pertinent to mention that Shabbir, winner of four Quaid-i-Azam Gold Cups and two Derby, had captured the Champion Rider award seven times in the past.

The Champion Owner of the Year award went to prominent owner Syed Sibghatullah Shah Pir Pagara while The King’s Best owned by Syed Ismail Shah bagged the Champion Horse of the Year award.

The KRC chairman Faisal Farooq presented the awards to the successful people in the paddock along with KRC steward Irfan Mehdi and secretary Ali Akbar Shah Rashdi.

Published in Dawn, January 4th, 2016

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top