Pakistan News

Pakistan enjoy satisfying day in international badminton event

Pakistan enjoy satisfying day in international badminton event

ISLAMABAD: Home players Anjum Bashir, Shoaib Riaz, Awais Zahid, Murad Ali, Amir Saeed were among early winners in the On the opening day of Pakistan International Series Badminton Tournament that stared at the Pakistan Sports Board’s Liaquat Gymnasium here on Thursday .

More than 30 foreign players are among a lot of 70 from 10 countries who are competing in the event that ends on Sunday.

The tournament was formally inaugurated in a ceremony which was attended by Federal Inter-provincial Coordination Minister Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada.

Speaking briefing on the occasion, Pirzada welcomed the overseas players to Pakistan, while saying: “The participation of foreign badminton here proves again that Pakistan is a safe country for sports.”

The minister added Pakistan’s image will improve when international sports events are held in the country on a regular basis.

Meanwhile on the playing courts, Pakistan enjoyed a good first day. Anjum Bashir defeated Ahmed Nibal of the Maldives in straight games 21-6, 21-13; Shoaib Riaz outclassed Afghanistan’s Enamullah Faqiri 21-10, 21-16; Awais Zahid overcame Turkey’s Enis Sesalan in three games with a score-line of 15-21, 21-15, 21-18.

Pakistan’s top-ranked player Murad Ali whipped Quang Dinh Tran of Vietnam 21-9, 21-12 while Amir Saeed sealed 23-21, 21-14 victory against Cambodia’s Chanmara Tep.

Mohammad Muqeet Tahir beat his fellow Pakistani Mohammad Rizwan 21-9, 21-16 and Azeem Sarwar eased past Maldives’ Hussein Shaheed 21-9, 21-11.


Main round: Anjum Bashir (Pakistan) bt Ahmed Nibal (Maldives) 21-6, 21-13; Shoaib Riaz (Pakistan) bt Enamullah Faqiri (Afghanistan) 21-10, 21-16; Awais Zahid (Pakistan) bt Enis Sesalan (Turkey) 15-21, 21-15, 21-18.; Murad Ali (Pakistan) bt Quang Dinh Tran (Vietnam) 21-9, 21-12; Amir Saeed (Pakistan) bt Chanmara Tep (Cambodia) 23-21, 21-14; Mohammad Muqeet Tahir (Pakistan) bt Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan) 21-9, 21-16; Azeem Sarwar (Pakistan) bt Hussein Shaheed (Maldives) 21-9, 21-11; Aljallad Ahamd (Syria bt Soban Jamil (Pakistan) 21-12, 25-23; Duc Phat Le (Vietnam) bt Hashir Bashir (Pakistan) 21-14, 21-8; Yusuf Ramazan (Turkey) bt Abdur Rehman (Pakistan) 21-19, 21-13; Le Thanh Lam (Vietnam) bt Zohaib Khan Khalil (Pakistan) 21-17, 21-18; Chanmara Tep (Cambodia) bt Said Shahabudin Aini (Afghanistan) 21-8, 21-5; Quang Dinh Tran (Vietnam) bt Fazal Rehman (Pakistan) 21-16, 19-21, 21-18.

Qualifying round: Quang Dinh (Vietnam) bt Emran Rahim (Afghanistan) 21-14, 21-9; Le Thanh Lam (Vietnam) bt Ahsan Asif (Pakistan) 21-12, 21-15; Chanmara Tep bt Ahsan Qamar (Pakistan)21-19, 14-21, 23-21; Hashir Bashir (Pakistan) bt Syed Masoud Sayedy (Afghanistan) 21-12, 21-15; Raja Mohammad Hasnain (Pakistan) bt Sayed Imran Meri (Afghanistan) 21-12, 21-11.

Published in Dawn, November 10th, 2017

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top