Pakistan News

Pakistan, Bangladesh women cricket teams lock horns in T20 series opener today

Pakistan, Bangladesh women cricket teams lock horns in T20  series opener today

LAHORE: The first of the three international T20 matches between Pakistan and Bangladesh women’s teams will be held here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday.

“This is the first time we will be playing at home and the girls are pretty charged up for the match,” said Pakistan captain Bismah Maroof.

In the last T20 series held in Bangladesh last year, Pakistan emerged winners 3-0.

The current series also serves as a perfect opportunity for the hosts to test their bench strength because their mainstay Nida Dar is currently in Australia for the Women’s Big Bash League while their most experienced campaigner Sana Mir is unavailable for the series opener.

The T20I series is part of Bangladesh women’s 10-day tour in which they will also play two One-day Internationals against Pakistan at the same venue.

With Pakistan slated to host world champions England in the ICC Women’s Championship in Malaysia in December, these matches serve as an opportunity to get their team combination right.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh skipper Salma Khatun said: “We are very much looking forward to the series against a strong Pakistan side, who will be particularly tough in home conditions.

“It is nice to be back. Pakistan are a familiar opponent for us and we have had some pretty exciting matches against them over the years. Our side thrives on team spirit. A nice balance has developed in our game and I am confident that we will be very competitive in the series,” she said.


Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Omaima Sohail, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.

Bangladesh: Salma Khatun (captain), Ayesha Rahman, Ekka Mollik, Fargana Hoque, Jahanara Alam, Khadija Tul Kubra, Lata Mondal, Nigar Sultana, Panna Ghosh, Rumana Ahmed, Sanjida Islam, Shamima Sultana, Shanjida Akther Maghla, Sharmin Akhter and Sharmin Sultana.

Muhammad Anees is appointed as match-referee for T20 matches and Javed Malik for the ODIs.


Oct 26: 1st T20I (1.00pm-3.45pm), Umpires: Asif Yaqoob-Tariq Rasheed.

Oct 28: 2nd T20I (10am-12.45pm), Asif Yaqoob-Faisal Khan.

Oct 30:3rd T20I (10am-12.45pm), Asif Yaqoob-Tariq Rasheed.

Nov 2: 1st ODI (9.30am-4.35pm),Shozab Raza-Asif Yaqoob.

Nov 4: 2nd ODI (9.30am-4.35pm) Shozab Raza, Asif Yaqoob.

Published in Dawn, October 26th, 2019

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top