Pakistan News

PPP Sheikhupura leader, 30 others join PTI

PPP Sheikhupura leader, 30 others join PTI

LAHORE: PPP leader from Sheikhupura Rana Abbas Ali Khan along with 30 office-bearers of the party’s local chapters announced joining the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) in a meeting with Chaudhry Sarwar here on Tuesday.

Abbas Ali Khan was the PPP candidate for PP-165 Sheikhupura in the last general elections. He had joined the PPP in 2012 after quitting the PML-N.

PPP Sharakpur tehsil president Rana Riasat Ali, former nazims Sabir Husain Bhatti, Saeed Shah, Yaqoob Butt, Munir Dogar and Hafiz Usman, former councilors Wasif Shah, Waqar Shah, Atif Kamboh, Abdul Wali Khan, Farooqabad Anjuman Tajraan chairman Ahmed Maqbool and others expressed confidence in the leadership of PTI chief Imran Khan and joined his party.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Sarwar, PTI Punjab organiser, said the PPP’s corruption and looting spree had devastated it and the PTI was the only hope for the people to look for progress and prosperity. He said political workers and leaders were leaving their parties and joining the PTI.

Sarwar said the PTI would be fully prepared to contest the upcoming local government elections. He alleged the PML-N and PPP had given nothing to people except loadshedding, price hike and joblessness, therefore, the masses were rejecting these parties at all forums. He claimed the PTI would win local bodies elections because the people were supporting its policies.

Published in Dawn ,July 15th, 2015

On a mobile phone? Get the Dawn Mobile App: Apple Store | Google Play

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top