Pakistan News

Belarus University crowns Nawaz 'honorary professor'

Belarus University crowns Nawaz 'honorary professor'

After being the beaming recipient of an honorary doctorate degree, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday has now also been made an honorary professor by the Belarus State University. It appears that the prime minister with his achievement has become the dream of many a South Asian family.

He is one of the few Pakistanis, including Malala Yousufzai, Imran Khan, and squash legend Jahangir Khan, to have been bestowed with an honorary post outside the country.

The prime minister already holds a local honorary PhD, awarded to him by the Government College University (GCU) in January 2014.

There is a long list of politicians and prominent figures who have been awarded honorary degrees from various educational institutions in the country.

Premier Sharif himself was earlier awarded with an honorary PhD degree in January 2014.

Other personalities awarded with honorary degrees include Syed Qaim Ali Shah from the Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur, Syed Khurshid Ahmed Shah andchief justice of the Federal Shariat Court, Agha Rafiq Ahmed Khan from the University of Sindh.

Former interior minister Rehman Malik had also made headlines when he had receveied an honorary doctorate degree from the University of Karachi in October 2011.

Dr Abdul Salam, the first Pakistani Nobel Laureate was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Punjab University in 1957. Sindh Muslim College awarded former prime minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto an honorary doctorate.

General Ziaul Haq. Soon after he abrogated the Constitution of Pakistan and declared himself Martial Law administrator, he was awarded an honorary Doctorate in Law by the University of Punjab.

The University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, had awarded a Doctorate in Science to former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister and president of the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Sciences and Technology in Pakistan, Engr Shamsul Mulk last year.

The Institute of Business Administration (IBA) had also awarded honorary doctorate degrees to renowned social worker Abdul Sattar Edhi in November 2006 and former prime minister Shaukat Aziz in 2005.

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top