Pakistan News

Balochistan Assembly votes in Bizenjo as new CM

Balochistan Assembly votes in Bizenjo as new CM

Former deputy speaker Abdul Quddus Bizenjo was elected Balochistan's new chief minister by the provincial assembly during a session held on Saturday.

PML-Q's Bizenjo is the third chief minister of the province in four years. He was elected after former CM Nawab Sanaullah Khan Zehri stepped down last week.

Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party's (PkMAP) Agha Syed Liaqat Ali was the only contestant against Bizenjo as Abdul Rahim Khan Ziaratwal of his party stepped down in his favour.

Zehri, the former chief minister of Balochistan stepped down last week after opposition benches filed a motion of no-confidence against him. He turned in his resignation on January 9, the day when opposition parties planned to submit a no-confidence motion against him in the provincial assembly.

He was reportedly asked to resign ahead of the session to spare his party — the PML-N — further embarrassment on the matter. PM Abbasi advised Zehri to resign after the dissenting leaders rejected his invitations to discuss outstanding issues, sources within the PML-N told DawnNews.

Similar News
Recent News
Back to top