First Decision Of Modi 3.0: In Big Farmer Push, PM Signs Kisan Nidhi File For Release Of Rs 20,000 Crore
First Decision Of Modi 3.0: In Big Farmer Push, PM Signs Kisan Nidhi File For Release Of Rs 20,000 Crore
Modi's first act as Prime Minister for the third term: authorizing PM Kisan Nidhi release, benefitting 9.3 crore farmers with Rs 20,000 crores

After assuming charge as the country’s Prime Minister for a record-equalling third time, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday signed his first file authorising the release of the 17th installment of PM Kisan Nidhi. Under this decision, 9.3 crore farmers will receive around Rs 20,000 crores worth of benefits.

“Our government is fully committed to Kisan Kalyan. It is fitting that the first file signed on taking charge is related to farmer welfare. We want to keep working even more for the farmers and the agriculture sector in the times to come,” the Prime Minister said after signing the file.

READ MORE: Narendra Modi 3.0 LIVE: PM Modi Takes Charge For Third Term Today, Govt May Take Decision To Increase Homes Under Awas Yojana

The decision signifies the latest Modi government’s commitment to farmers’ welfare following the ruling National Democratic Alliance’s poll win. The decision comes as the first meeting of the latest cabinet is likely to be held in the evening at the PM house.

On Sunday, 71 ministers took oath as part of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Cabinet at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. Modi retained 34 ministers from his outgoing council of ministers, including 19 with Cabinet berths.

The Cabinet ministers who took the oath included Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and S Jaishankar, reflecting the prime minister’s emphasis on continuity and experience in his third term. The Modi 3.0 cabinet has expanded to 72 members, including 30 Cabinet Ministers and 5 Ministers of State (independent charge). The majority of the berths were allocated to the BJP, while the remaining went to the allies.

There were several from BJP allies while the rest were from the Bharatiya Janata Party.  The BJP had an absolute majority in the previous two terms. The Prime Minister’s new team includes 30 other Cabinet Ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge and 36 Ministers of State (MoS). These ministers represent 24 States, as well as all regions within states. The maximum number of nine ministers are from Uttar Pradesh followed by eight from Bihar. As many as 27 ministers are from OBC, 10 from SC, 5 from ST, five from minorities.

What's your reaction?


0 comment

Write the first comment for this!